Home > Learning & Teaching > Curriculum philosophy and practice
Curriculum philosophy and practice


School-based Curriculum


We establish a School-based Curriculum Framework that sets the directions for learning and teaching, and puts every area of development curriculum initiatives, methodology and learning outcome into perspectives. The centre of the framework is student holistic development that spells the core of curriculum development that shall aim at and build on the growth of a student.


There are 3 major components of the school-based curriculum framework:


i.  3 Areas of Student Development

ii. 12 Methods of Learning and Teaching

iii. 7 Learning Goals



The Curriculum Framework


3 Areas of Student Development

Area 1 – Academic Development

Area 2 – Talent Development

Area 3 – Moral Development


The 3 areas of student development cover every element in the formal, informal and hidden curriculum of the school. They provide a perspective and purpose of development and learning for curriculum, subjects, programmes and learning initiatives. They cover all essential lifelong learning experiences for wholeperson development in the domains of ethics, intellect, physical development, social skills and aesthetics, and they are backed by the school motto – Wisdom, Faith, Love.


12 Approaches of Learning & Teaching


A learner-focused approach is used in WFJLPS. Diversified learning and teaching methodologies which are adopted to suit the different personalities, needs and interests of students.  The learning and teaching methods are built on the strengths and interests of students to make learning effective and efficient.


The approaches of learning and teaching are as follows:

  • Blended Learning
  • Experiential learning
  • Excursion/ field trip/ visit
  • Project learning
  • Activity-based learning
  • Parent-assisted learning
  • Reading across the curriculum
  • Service learning
  • Talks and exhibitions
  • Technology-based learning
  • Competitions
  • Theme-based learning

7 Learning Goals


The learning goals of the curriculum framework focus on further promoting the whole-person development of students, which include building students' good characters, enhancing their proficiency in languages, strengthening their self-directed learning skills, developing their potential, as well as helping them to adopt a healthy lifestyle.


The learning goals are as follows:


  • Building Good Characters

    Know how to distinguish right from wrong, fulfil their duties as members in the family, society and the nation, and show acceptance and tolerance towards pluralistic values.


  • Establishing a Healthy Lifestyle
    Lead a healthy lifestyle and develop an interest in aesthetic and physical activities and an ability to appreciate these activities.


  • Attaining KLA Knowledge
    Master the basics of the eight Key Learning Areas (KLA) to prepare for studying in secondary schools.


  • Developing Language Skills
    Actively communicate with others in English and Chinese (including Putonghua).


  • Developing 9 Generic Skills
    Develop independent learning skills, especially self-management skills and collaboration skills.


  • Nurturing the Habit of Reading
    Develop an interest in reading extensively and cultivate a habit of reading.


  • Establishing National Identity

Understand their national identity and be concerned about society, the nation and 
the world, and to fulfil their role as a responsible citizen.



Curriculum Framework